Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Goals

top5wednesday

Happy New Year! I’ve got a few different goals for 2017, some personal, some professional, and of course, some bookish ones.

1) Eat Healthier

Image result for healthy eating

This is a pretty standard New Year’s resolution but I’m really motivated to incorporate more healthy foods into my diet and cut out the junk because, honestly, I am just so tired of eating the same crappy stuff all the time. Not that I’m going to stop eating junk food altogether (because, come on, you’ve got to live a little) but I want to eat less of it. Also, I want to learn how to cook because it’s kind of an essential skill to have.

2) Exercise More

Image result for exercise

This one goes hand in hand with eating better. I’ve come to realize that I have no upper body strength whatsoever and it’s kind of sad. My motivation isn’t to lose weight or fit into a certain size – I’m pretty happy with the way my body looks so I just want to exercise more and eat healthier so I’ll feel better.

3) Write More

Image result for writing

I’ve got so many ideas for stories swimming around in my head but I am so bad at actually writing them down. In 2017, my goal is to make time for writing every single day. To achieve this goal, I plan on getting up early and writing first thing in the morning. I’d like to finish one novel and at least one short story and see if I can get them published!

4) Read more, watch less TV

Related image

I confess: I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump the past few months and have spent waaaaaay too much time on Netflix. But here’s the thing – I literally have hundreds of unread books on my bookshelves and I really want to start tackling my TBR list. So I’m canceling my Netflix account (oh the humanity!) and devoting more of my free time to reading (YAY!) My reading goal for 2017 is to read at least 100 books, if not more.

5) Try new things

Image result for fun things to do

I’ll admit, I’m not very adventurous. I tend to play it safe and do the same things and go to the same places. But no more! This year I’m going to make it a point to try and do one new thing each month. It doesn’t have to be particularly big like skydiving (although I would like to try that one day.) It can be something relatively small, like going to a restaurant I’ve never been to before or taking an art class.

So there you have it – my goals for 2017. I wish everyone a happy New Year and good luck with your own 2017 goals! Let’s make 2017 the BEST YEAR EVER!

Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads group.

Leave a Reply

