Top 5 Polarizing Books

1) Lord of the Flies by William Golding

Lord of the Flies

There are a lot of readers that hate this book because it offers a bleak view on the nature of humanity – but I love it in all of its beautiful, savage glory.

2) Under the Skin by Michel Faber

Under The Skin

I’m not a hundred percent sure if this book is polarizing in general but I did read it with a couple of friends of mine for a book club and they absolutely HATED it – but I loved it. I found it disturbing, poetic, and profound. This book will change the way you think.

3) The plays of William Shakespeare

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare

I was kind of naive in my teenage years, thinking Shakespeare was universally beloved and respected. Ah, not so, not so! Since then I have met many people who think Shakespeare is highly overrated and his plays are boring. I am not one of these people – my fondness for all things Shakespeare has only grown.

4) Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)

Before I got into The Hunger Games series, I had heard from a couple of people that the first two books were incredible but the last one wasn’t very good at all. While Mockingjay isn’t my favorite in the series, the more times I reread it, the more I like it.

5) Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

Lolita

Lolita is probably one of the most controversial novels of all time and it’s not really surprising – the main character is, after all, a pedophile. It is definitely not one of the most comfortable topics to read about and there are some parts that are downright disturbing – but it is also a beautifully written story. Some people claim that Lolita glamorizes and promotes pedophilia but I don’t think that this is the case. Nabokov’s goal with Lolita was to write about the most loathsome kind of person he could imagine – and then make him sympathetic.

What are some of your favorite polarizing or controversial books? Let me know!

Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads group.

Leave a Reply

