Top 10 Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would

Books I Loved More Than I Thought I Would:

 

1) The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)

The first book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder, was described as a mash-up of Cinderella and the Terminator so of course I was excited to read it. While I was expecting a fun read, I did not expect the epic scope of the series and the wonderfully diverse cast of characters that I fell in love with.

2) Vampire Academy series/Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1) Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1)

I do not have a great history with teen vampire books (hint: it rhymes with dielight) so I was definitely a bit skeptical when I picked up the first Vampire Academy book. To my surprise, it turned out to be a fun, soapy, sexy read with badass female characters.And I was shocked when I loved the Bloodline series even more!

3) The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson

The Orphan Master's Son

This was one of those novels that I kind of just picked up at the library at random, intrigued by the fact that it was set in North Korea. After I read it, I was absolutely blown away by its beauty, intelligence, and profound heartbreaking story. It has now become one of my favorite books of all time and I always recommend it every chance I get.

4) Intimate Enemies by Shana Abe

Intimate Enemies

I have an unabashed love for romance novels and this one is near-perfect. The characters, the romance, the plot – I love everything about it. It’s something I would recommend to people who claim not to like romance novels.

5) The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux, #1)

I heard the Lux series described as ‘Twilight with aliens’ so I was a bit apprehensive when I picked up the first book. Now, the Lux series is total brain candy, but it is good. I love the characters (Daemon Black is definitely in my harem of book boyfriends) and the books are just so fun and sexy. Everything that Twilight should have been.

Books I Loved Less Than I Thought I Would:

1) Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding

Bridget Jones's Diary (Bridget Jones, #1)

Bridget Jones’ Diary is one of my favorite romcoms of all time. I had seen the film at least 5 times before I picked up the book. And because I loved the movie so much I thought I would love the book too….nope. That is not what happened. I found book Bridget to be annoying, vapid, whiny, and incredibly shallow. She is all of these things in the movie too, but on the page I just found her to be totally unsympathetic.

2) Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

Crimson Bound

This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2015 because I absolutely adored Hodge’s debut novel, Cruel Beauty. While I thought the writing was quite beautiful, the rest of the novel failed to live up to my expectations. I felt as if the author was trying to cram way too much into one novel that might have worked better as a duology. There were parts that I found completely incomprehensible and I didn’t really care for any of the characters.

3) Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

I was really excited to read Divergent. It was getting a lot of buzz and was being compared to the Hunger Games. So I read it…or at least I tried to read it. To be honest, I never finished it. I thought the writing was flat, the world-building was vague, and the characters were so poorly sketched, I had trouble trying to remember who was who. And I thought Tris was kind of an asshole.

4) Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)

I love erotica – I’ve been reading it off and on since I was fourteen years old. So when the Fifty Shades phenomenon exploded (ha) I just had to check it out. And, oh, I was so disappointed. Lots of sex, but very little sensuality, unbelievably bad writing, and I wanted to shove all the characters in front of a bus. I’ve always said this about Fifty Shades of Grey: it would be a good story if everything about it was completely different.

5) The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus

I was really excited to read The Night Circus because I had heard so many good things about it and I am a sucker for books that take place at the circus. (I don’t know why – I actually haven’t read that many.) So I read it and I thought it was…okay. The writing is absolutely gorgeous and there are some fantastic images in the book but I thought it lacked depth and emotion.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

Leave a Reply

