Top 10 Authors I’m Dying to Meet

1) J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling

Of course the author of my favorite book series of all time is #1 on my list. My chances of meeting Queen Rowling are probably pretty slim and maybe that’s okay because I’d most likely burst into hysterical tears the moment I laid eyes on her.

Question I’d Love to Ask Her: When you were at your lowest point, what inspired you to keep going?

2) Stephen King

Stephen King

After the Queen herself, next on my list is the King of Horror. I’ve loved reading Stephen King’s books ever since I was a teenager and it would be incredible to meet him.

Question I’d Love to Ask Him: If you had never become a famous, successful author, would you still write? (I have the feeling the answer would be yes, but I’d still like to see what he would say.)

3) Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas

I have only read the first two books in the Court of Thorns and Roses series but those two books were enough to make Sarah J. Maas one of my most beloved authors.

Question I’d Love to Ask Her: What advice would you give to an aspiring fantasy writer?

4) Ben Aaronovitch

Ben Aaronovitch

Ben Aaronovitch is the author of my favorite urban fantasy series, the Peter Grant series and I would love to meet him and hear him talk more about his books, his characters, and where he gets his ideas from.

Question I’d Love to Ask Him: How many more books do you have planned for the Peter Grant series?

5) Foz Meadows

Foz Meadows

I only recently discovered Foz Meadows (see my review for An Accident of Stars) but I was so impressed with her novel that I would love to meet her and pick her brilliant brain.

Question I’d Love to Ask Her: What steps do you take when you are in the process of building a fantasy world?

6) Gillian Flynn

Gillian Flynn

Gillian Flynn is a master when it comes to writing taught, psychological thrillers. I have all of her books, just waiting to be signed.

Question I’d Love to Ask Her: How important is it to you that your books have complex, female characters in them? Characters that some people may call ‘unlikeable?’

7) Haruki Murakami

Haruki Murakami

A creator of dream-like novels, I think it would be so interesting to meet Murakami and see what he’s like in person.

Question I’d Love to Ask Him: How do you take an idea that is so dreamlike and seemingly illogical and make it real?

8) Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyer is the author of one of my favorite YA series, The Lunar Chronicles.

Question I’d Love to Ask Her: Are you ever tempted to write more stories about any of the characters from the Lunar Chronicles?

9) Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood

Question I’d Love to Ask Her: How close do you think we are to a living in a reality that is like the one you portrayed in The Handmaid’s Tale? Do you think such a reality is inevitable, considering the current political climate? (Yeah, it wouldn’t be the most upbeat conversation but I think Margaret Atwood is a genius and she is incredibly insightful about the way society works.)

10) Marie Rutkoski

Marie Rutkoski

Marie Rutkoski is the author of one of my favorite series of all time, The Winners Trilogy

Question I’d Love to Ask Her: What are you working on right now? (Translation: PLEASE TELL ME YOU HAVE ANOTHER BOOK COMING OUT SOON)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Authors I’m Dying to Meet

  1. I would so love to meet Margaret Atwood!! I hope you meet all the authors on your TTT list this week. The cool thing is that I made a TTT post a couple of years ago of all the authors I wanted to meet in person some day and I ended up meeting three of them in person within a year!! I’m hoping to meet the rest of the authors on my TTT list some point in time!

    This week I choose to focus on the eleven authors I can’t believe I’ve already met! Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2017/03/top-ten-tuesday-ten-authors-i-cant.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

