Top 10 Book Turn Ons

This week’s Top 10 Tuesday is all about our book turn ons – things that will make us want to instantly read a book. So here’s my list of book things that get me all giddy inside.

1) Beauty and the Beast retellings

Beauty and the Beast is my favorite fairy tale of all time (thanks to the animated Disney version) so I get really excited anytime I see a book that is a retelling of my beloved fairy tale.

2) Horror

If a book is described as ‘creepy,’ ‘spine-tingling,’ ‘dark,’ ‘disturbing,’ or just plain scary than I want to read it. Don’t ask me why.

3) Epic fantasy

I haven’t actually read that much when it comes to epic fantasy – but I just know I’ll love it.

4) Dragons

If a book has a dragon on the cover or has the word ‘Dragon’ in the title, it goes on my TBR.

5) Feminism

Now that the fourth wave of feminism has come around, we are spoiled for choice when it comes for books on the topic.

6) North Korea

My fascination with North Korea all started when I first read The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson. Ever since then, I’ve been wanting to learn more about the real-life dystopian nation.

7) Eastern inspired fantasy

To be perfectly honest, I haven’t actually read many eastern inspired fantasy books yet but I can tell you I’ve got a ton of them on my TBR.

8) Books about books

This one’s pretty self-explanatory. What book lover doesn’t love reading about books?

9) Japan

For some reason, books that take place in Japan or that are by Japanese authors are must-reads for me.

10) Monsters

This could easily fit into my horror category but I believe monster books deserve their own spot on this list. Because while I love reading psychological horror that are subtle and creepy – sometimes you want something that’s a bit more in-your-face.

Top 10 Tuesday is an original bookish tag created by The Broke and the Bookish.

 

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Book Turn Ons

  1. I love a lot of these things! 🙂 I recently read a nifty Beauty & the Beast retelling–Masque by W.R. Gingell–and a Pride & Prejudice retelling with dragons–Heartstone by Elle Katharine White. It’s fun to read an old story with a twist! My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

