Top 10 Book Turn-offs

1) Love triangles

I’m not as opposed to love triangles as I once was – I read somewhere that a love triangle gives the female character more agency in that she has a choice when it comes to partners. But personally, I just don’t like love triangles because I want to KNOW (or at least have a pretty good idea) of who the heroine is going to end up with because I don’t want to become emotionally invested in a romance and have it not work out.

2) Threesome romance novels

This one kind of ties in to my aversion of love triangles. Call me a prude, but the idea of a threesome does absolutely nothing for me. Cool if that’s your thing but I’m a one-on-one kind of person – in real life and in romance novels.

3) Steampunk

I don’t know why it is but anytime I see the word ‘steampunk’ in a book’s description I immediately lose interest. I’m sure there are some wonderful steampunk books out there but it just doesn’t appeal to me for some reason.

4) Cyberpunk

Anytime I see the word ‘cyberpunk’ I immediately think ‘sci-fi with an emphasis on computers’ and that leads me to ‘I’m not going to have a clue as to what is going on.’ A perfect example: I read The Peripheral by William Gibson and I HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS GOING ON.

5) Any book by a conservative politician

Call me biased but I really don’t want to read about how God told you to run for office so you could oppress women and gay people.

6) ‘Inspirational’ romance

‘Inspirational’ romance is code for Christian romance which features Christian characters adhering to the strict tenets of the Christian faith. According to Goodreads ‘any sexual content is hinted at or avoided entirely.’ THEN WHAT’S THE POINT?

7) Books by reality TV stars

No. Just no.

8) Books about sports

Just not a sports fan. Unless it’s Quidditch!

9) ‘How to get a man’ books

NOPE.

10) Any book by Donald Trump

Pretty self-explanatory.

Leave a Reply

