April 2017 Wrap-Up

1) A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

a study in scarlet

Rating: 3/5

An enjoyable introduction to literature’s most famous sleuth with an engaging mystery. It does feel a little quaint by today’s standards but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

2) The Deal (Off-Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy

the deal

Rating: 4.5/5

OMG this book is adorable! It’s got everything I’m looking for in a romance – likable yet realistic characters, incredible romantic tension and steamy sex scenes – plus Elle Kennedy has a great sense of humour and it shows in her writing. There were so many LOL moments!

3) The Mistake (Off-Campus #2) by Elle Kennedy

the mistake

Rating: 3.5/5

I enjoyed the second book in the Off-Campus series but not as much as the first one. While it still had some hot sex scenes and good humour, I thought the two main characters lacked a bit of romantic tension. And I thought the ending was a little too ‘neat.’ Despite these minor complaints, it’s still a great book to pick up if you’re looking for a sweet college romance.

4) The Score (Off-Campus #3) by Elle Kennedy

the score

Rating: 4.5/5

This book is HOT. The two main characters, Allie and Dean, have amazing chemistry and the sex scenes are scorching. Plus, I love the whole player-falls-in-love trope. Possibly the best book in the Off-Campus series definitely on par with the first book.

5) The Goal (Off-Campus #4) by Elle Kennedy

the goal

Rating: 4/5

I wasn’t sure I was going to like this book that much when I first started it. It’s a ‘pregnancy’ romance, not usually my favorite but of course Elle Kennedy made it smart, sexy, and so, so sweet. I loved how the main female character didn’t give up her ambitions just because she got pregnant. And Tucker is definitely the most old-fashioned ‘romantic’ character in the Off-Campus series. I am now addicted to Elle Kennedy’s books and I can’t wait to read more!

6) Cat Stories by Diana Secker Tesdell

cat stories

Rating: 4/5

A wonderful anthology of cat stories from some amazing authors – Neil Gaiman, Angela Carter, and Edgar Allan Poe just to name a few. If you’re a cat lover like me, then this collection is for you.

7) A Cold Season by Alison Littlewood

a cold season

Rating: 3/5

A pretty decent religious-themed horror novel. The tension slowly builds throughout the novel and the atmosphere of cold and isolation is palpable. However, I thought the climax fell a little flat – but the final chapter gave me chills. A solid horror read but it didn’t blow me away.

8) The Manual of Detection by Jedediah Berry

manual of detection

Rating: 3/5

I was in a bit of a slump when I read this book and it took me awhile to get into it. It is incredibly whimsical and dreamlike but there were moments when I felt a little lost.

9) The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

sign of four

Rating: 3.5/5

One of my favourite Sherlock Holmes stories, The Sign of Four is action-packed and features some classic Holmes moments. However, it does feature problematic racist overtones which might make modern-day readers uncomfortable. Unfortunately, it’s a product of its time.

10) A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

ACOTAR

Rating: 5/5

I love this book so much. I reread this book in preparation for A Court of Wings and Ruin and I was nervous to read it again because I was afraid it wouldn’t be as amazing as I remembered. Spoiler alert: it is just as gorgeous, sexy, and spectacular the second time around. (Plus, you pick up on so many little details that you miss the first time.) One of my favourite books of all time. Now I just have to reread A Court of Mist and Fury and I’ll be ready for the finale. (JK – I don’t think anything will make me ready to say goodbye to this wonderful series.)

Leave a Reply

