10 Books I Want to Read with My Mom

Recently, I’ve seen a lot of articles about Mother/Daughter book clubs. Because that is only the best idea in the entire world, I immediately suggested to my own mother that we start one. After she told me to calm the heck down, she agreed that it would be a good idea. So I was off, pouring over book lists to come with ideas for our two-person book club. I eventually came up with about fifty titles, but for Top 10 Tuesday, I narrowed the list down to the 10 books I am most excited to read with my mom.

1) Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

gone with the wind

This is my mom’s favourite book of all time – and it’s actually one of my favourites as well seeing as I read it two or three times as a teenager. Neither of us has read it in years and so I think it would be fun to read my mom’s most beloved book for our club.

2) Carrie by Stephen King

carrie

My mom is not a huge horror fan like I am but I think we would both enjoy reading about Carrie’s toxic relationship with her mother because it’s so unlike our own.

3) The Princess Bride by William Goldman

princess bride

We recently watched the movie together on Mother’s Day so naturally we should read the book, too.

4) Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple

where'd you go bernadette

This one I haven’t read before but I know it’s about a dysfunctional mother/daughter relationship – and it’s supposed to be hilarious!

5) Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

divine secrets of the ya-ya sisterhood

I think this one is pretty much mandatory for mother/daughter book clubs.

6) The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking

little book of hygge

My mom and I both love the idea of Hygge – comfortable, cozy, easy living.

7) Still Alice by Lisa Genova

still alice

A book about a psychology professor (and mother) who develops early-onset Alzheimer’s.

8) Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own by Kate Bolick

spinster

A book that should appeal to two happily single women who don’t need no man.

9) Michelle Obama: A Life by Peter Slevin

michelle obama

A biography of one of the most inspirational women of our time.

10) The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

joy luck club

A book about the connections between women – between friends and between mothers and daughters.

Top 10 Tuesday is an original bookish tag created by The Broke and the Bookish

5 thoughts on “10 Books I Want to Read with My Mom

Leave a Reply

